A Mandatory Reporting State

Identity Theft laws in Colorado

Credit Freeze Law in Colorado - Freeze Law - SB 05-137

  • Effective date: July 1, 2006
  • Applies to all consumers
  • Fees: No fee for first freeze; $10 to place a second freeze, $10 to lift, $12 
    for temporarily lift for one creditor
  • For more information on the security freeze law in Colorado: www.ago.state.co.us/idtheft/securityfreeze.cfm
  • for instructions on how to place a security freeze:www.consumersunion.org/pdf/security/securityCO.pdf
  • Place the freeze over the phone
    • Equifax - 800-685-1111
    • Experian - 888-397-3742
    • TransUnion - 800-680-7289

Contacts in Colorado

 

Credit Reporting Agencies (CRAs) - Please refer to ITRC Solution 2:  Credit Reporting Agencies Contact Information

Other Resources

 

 

ITRC Sponsors and Supporters

 

 

 

 

Go to top

 

The TMI Weekly

 
Breaches here, identity theft there and invasions of privacy  everywhere... Should you be worried and, if so, how can you protect yourself? 
 
Sign up now to get the latest hot topics in identity theft, data breaches and privacy and helpful information on how to protect your information.