Confirming your account can hand your login credentials over to a scammer.

Who Is It Targeting: Email users

What Is It: Phishing scam that targets users with fake confirmation messages

What Are They After: A popular type of scam involves sending large numbers of emails to potential victims, claiming to come from a well-known company. The messages state that users only have a limited amount of time to confirm their accounts by clicking the link and logging in. Unfortunately, when you do that, you will be redirected to a fake page where your username and password are stolen, leading to you falling victim to an account confirmation scam.

How Can You Avoid It:

  • Companies do not need you to log into your account from time to time just to prove you exist
  • Never click a link that you were not expecting
  • Be careful about opening attachments or downloading files since those could be filled with harmful software

If you think you may be a victim of identity theft or an account confirmation scam, contact the Identity Theft Resource Center for toll-free, no-cost assistance at 888.400.5530. Find more information about current scams and alerts here. For full details of this scam check out this article from IDTheftCenter.org.


You might also like…