Info Sheet: Credit Freeze Laws for Protected Consumers
To date, 33 states have passed laws for allowing consumers to place a freeze on credit reports for protected consumers. The definition of a protected consumer differs by state but generally includes children under 18 years old or children under 16 years old, and any individual who has a legal guardian or conservator. While most states allow you to place a freeze if a credit report already exists due to identity theft, the following 33 states will allow you to create a credit report for your child proactively when no credit report exists, then freeze it:
- New York
- North Carolina
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
The National Conference of State Legislatures has a chart that lists each state and the corresponding laws/fees. Please note that most states allow for no fees if the individual requesting a freeze (or his/her parent or guardian) can prove he/she is a victim of identity theft. If you have questions about checking to see if your child has a credit report and how to freeze a report with each credit reporting agency, read our how-to here.
Due to Senate Bill 2155, as of September 21, 2018 residents in all 50 states will be able to place a credit freeze on their, and their child’s, credit report and request that a credit report for a protected consumer (which includes children under the age of 16) be created and frozen if a credit report does not exist.
This info sheet should not be used in lieu of legal advice. Any requests to reproduce this material, other than by individual victims for their own use, should be directed to firstname.lastname@example.org. Copyright, Identity Theft Resource Center®, all rights reserved.